Sochi, We Hardly Knew Yi

My final thoughts on the Sochi Olympics and NBC’s coverage of it.  I’d be interested in hearing any of yours, too.

The fact that no act of terror occurred automatically makes the Games a success.

Bob Costas is a trooper, but it made my eyes sting just looking at him.

There’s absolutely no reason for 2-man luge.  There may not even be a reason for 1-man luge.

Canada owns hockey.  There’s just no arguing or getting around that.

We can go back to not worrying about figure skating anymore until Pyeongchang.

Primetime coverage of events that have already happened seems even more irrelevant now than four years ago.  You pretty much have to stay off the computer and TV all day to avoid spoilers.  I can understand, though, why it will continue to be done in future Olympics.  Do you remember the Triplecast train wreck?

I don’t know that Putin’s PR has been (or should be) improved by the Games, but I definitely have more of an affinity for Russian people and a desire to visit Russia (not that I didn’t have an affinity for either before the Olympics).

For some reason, I’m still very leery of the IOC and how it operates.  Maybe it’s just me.

I’m OK with the US not winning the most (gold) medals.

I found the “Nancy & Tonya” documentary enlightening, but it doesn’t ever need to be brought up again.  Not on the 30th anniversary.  Not on the 40th anniversary.  I think Nancy and Tonya would agree.

The Olympic Ring fail being referenced in the Closing Ceremonies was pure genius.

I have every expectation that Rio will deliver.  Looking forward to 2016.

Leave a comment